HOME   |   CONTACT US  
ONLINE PAYMENT CENTER PUBLIC RECORDS ATTORNEYS' PAGE SELF HELP CENTER COMMUNITY NEWS
SPENDING IN THE SUNSHINE FINANCIAL REPORTS STATISTICS GET FORMS WATCH VIDEOS
 

 

Marriage License FAQs



NOTE:
  • Blood tests are not required in Florida.
  • A marriage license may be applied for and solemnized in any Florida county.
  • Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the issue date. The marriage ceremony must be performed betweenthe effective date and the expiration date on the license.
  • Florida Statute 741.08 states that the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony and within 10 days after the ceremony, he shall make a certificate thereof of the license, and shall transmit the same to the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court from which it issued.

Requirements to obtain marriage license in the State of Florida:

Both parties must be present when applying for a marriage license, sign the application form and take an oath to the truthfulness of the information provided.

Both parties must provide proof of the following:

  • Age: both parties must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Identification: in the form of a driver's license, state ID, military ID or passport.
  • U.S. citizens must provide their Social Security Number. Non-citizens may provide a Social Security Number or an Alien Registration Number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Also, a passport is an acceptable form of identification for non-citizens.
  • An application form must be completed. If either party has been previously married, you must note on the application how and when the marriage ended.
The fee for obtaining a Marriage License is $86.00. When both applicants complete a Premarital Preparation Course and present the Certificate to the Clerk, the fee is reduced to $61.00.

The following methods of payment are acceptable:

  • Cash
  • Money order
  • Traveler's check
  • Personal Check (Name and current address must be imprinted on check and you must present a photo ID).
  • Credit Cards: Visa, MasterCard and Discover or American Express

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage

Copies of marriage licenses for Pinellas County are available for viewing and purchase in the Official Records Rooms at our stated locations.

The charge for a copy is $1.00 per page and $2.00 to certify the document, if certification is needed. If you are going to use the copy for a legal purpose, you would want to have the copy certified. There is no charge to view a document.

You may also send a written request for a copy. Please provide the bride's maiden name, the groom's name, and if known, date of marriage. Please make checks payable to Clerk of Circuit Court. The mailing address is Clerk of the Circuit Court, Official Records, Room 163, 315 Court Street, Clearwater, FL 33756.

You may access images of recorded marriage licenses (from 2003 forward) through the Official Records section of our Public Records page.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Is there a waiting period for the Marriage License to become effective?
  2. How do we find a Premarital Course Provider?
  3. Who may perform Marriage Ceremonies?
  4. Who is a "Regularly Ordained Minister"?
  5. Can we be married in the Clerk’s Office?
  6. Can we be married by a Captain aboard a ship?
  7. How do we get a copy of our Marriage Record and how much does it cost?
  8. Do the applicants have to be U.S. Citizens?
  9. Can a Marriage License be issued to someone who is younger than 18?
  10. Do we need a License to renew our Vows?

Image of a Q Is there a waiting period for the Marriage License to become effective?
Image of an A There is a 3 day waiting period for Florida Residents, which can be waived if:

  • The couple complete a Premarital Preparation Course from a qualified, registered course provider and present the Certificate of Completion to the Clerk prior to obtaining the Marriage License.
  • The couple must also sign the Statement of Family Law Handbook, acknowledging they have accessed the Family Law Handbook, and mark the section of the Statement that certifies whether or not a Premarital Preparation Course was completed.

Please note: There is not a waiting period when both parties are Non Florida Residents.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Image of a Q How do we find a Premarital Course Provider?
Image of an A The Clerk does not provide the course. We can provide with a list of qualified, registered providers in Pinellas.

Providers set their own fees and terms. For example, some ministers will only provide the course for members of their congregation.

If you receive a Certificate of Completion of a Premarital Counseling it must state the course was a minimum of four hours, it was given within the past year, and state whether it was given by personal instruction or other means.

The certificate must be presented at the time of application for the license.

List of Providers

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Image of a Q Who may perform Marriage Ceremonies?
Image of an A Florida Statute 741.07 grants the following individuals the right to perform Marriage Ceremonies:

  • All regularly Ordained Ministers of the gospel, Elders in communion with a church, or other Ordained Clergy.
  • All Judicial Officers, including retired Judicial Officers, Clerks of the Circuit Courts, and Notaries Public of the State of Florida.
  • Quakers" or "Friends," may perform marriages in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Image of a Q Who is a "Regularly Ordained Minister"?
Image of an A A Minister who has been recognized in the manner required by the regulations of the respective Denomination to perform Marriage Ceremonies.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Image of a Q Can we be married in the Clerk’s Office?
Image of an A Yes. Deputy Clerks are authorized and available during normal working hours, Monday through Friday, to perform Marriage Ceremonies. No appointment is necessary. The fee for this service is $30.00.

The Clerk's Office also offers a Wedding Photo service for a $10.00 fee.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Image of a Q Can we be married by a Captain aboard a ship?
Image of an A Yes. If the Captain is a Notary Public of the State of Florida, the ship is in Florida waters at the time of the ceremony, and the Florida Marriage License is valid.

Florida waters: within three geographic miles from the coastline.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage

Image of a Q How do we get a copy of our Marriage Record and how much does it cost?
Image of an AOnce the Marriage Ceremony has taken place and the Officiator has completed their required fields on you Marriage License, return to the Clerk’s Office to have the document recorded into Official Records.

After the Marriage Ceremony has been performed, return the completed Marriage License to the Clerk’s Office to Record into Official Records. The Clerk will provide the couple with one Certified Copy, the price of which was include in the purchase of the License.

Additional certified copies will cost $3.00 each.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Image of a Q Do the applicants have to be U.S. Citizens?
Image of an A No. There are no citizenship or resident requirements.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Image of a Q Can a Marriage License be issued to someone who is younger than 18?
Image of an A Florida Statute 741.04(1) does not allow for a Marriage License to be issued to a person who is younger than 18 unless:

  1. 741.04(1)(a): They are 17 years old and can provide written consent from their Parents/Legal Guardians, which is acknowledged by an officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments and administer oaths, And
  2. 741.04(2)(b): The older party to the marriage is not more than 2 years older than the younger party.

Which means the Clerk’s Office will issue a Marriage License to:

  • A 17 year old and another 17 year old, when they have both obtained Parental/Guardian consent, as stated above.
  • A 17 year old with Parental/Guardian consent, as stated above, and the other party is either 18 or 19 years old.

The Clerk will not issue a Marriage License to a 17 year old, even with legally acknowledge Parental/Guardian consent, with anyone who is 20 years old or older.

The Clerk will not issue a Marriage License to anyone who is 16 years old or younger.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Image of a Q Do we need a License to renew our Vows?
Image of an A No. Speak to your clergyman, chaplain, or other advisor.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Marriage License Application Forms

eMarriage Application

Statement of Premarital Course

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Marriage License Fees

Couple, both Florida residents, both took course Fee $61.00 - No wait
Couple, both non-residents of Florida Fee $86.00 - No wait
Couple, one Florida resident, One non-resident, neither took course Fee $86.00 - 3-day wait
Couple, one non-Florida resident, no course and one Florida resident who took course Fee $86.00 - No wait
Performing ceremony at the Clerk’s office Fee $30.00

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage


Contact Information

Our prerecorded marriage license information line is available 24 hours a day at (727) 464-4700. You may speak to a clerk at that number during regular office hours.

A marriage license may be obtained at any one of the following Clerk's office locations: (Please make note of the hours of operation for each location)

OFFICE LOCATIONS & HOURS

RECORDING SERVICES DEPARTMENT
315 Court St., Room 150
Clearwater, FL 33756
(727) 464-7000
Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

NORTH COUNTY BRANCH OFFICE
29582 U.S. 19 North
Clearwater, FL 33761
(727) 464-7000
Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

CLERK'S TYRONE BRANCH OFFICE
1800 66th St., N.
St. Petersburg, FL 33710
(727) 464-7000
Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

ST. PETERSBURG BRANCH OFFICE
545 First Avenue, N.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
(727) 464-7000
Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Return to Top / Return to Marriage Homepage

Return to:
Marriage License Department
Marriage License Fees
Family Law Handbook
Family Law Handbook-Spanish version

Clerk's Commitment: Access to Public Records
CONTACT US
USING THIS WEBSITE
Phone:
Sitemap
(727) 464-7000
Public Records Liaison
 
Email Use Notice/ Liability Disclaimer
Hours of Operation:
ADA Requests
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
About the Clerk
Monday - Friday (excluding Holidays)
 
 
Comment Card (give us your feedback!)
Clerk Webmaster:
 
CONNECT WITH US
 
Like Us On Facebook!   Follow Us On Twitter!   Subscribe to our YouTube Channel!  Like our Flickr page 
General Inquiries: